What would you like to know about?


BDTCL was incorporated on September 8, 2009. BDTCL entered into a transmission service agreement dated December 7, 2010 and a transmission services agreement dated November 12, 2013 with Power Grid Corporation of India Limited (the “BDTCL TSA”). The BDTCL project was awarded to SGL1 by the Ministry of Power on January 31, 2011 for a 35-year period from the scheduled commercial operation date of the BDTCL Project, on a BOOM basis.

BDTCL In The GridBDTCL facilitates the transfer of electricity from coal-fired power generation sources from the states of Odisha and Chhattisgarh to power load centers in India’s western and northern regions. As our largest power transmission project, BDTCL operates six EHV overhead transmission lines of approximately 944 ckms comprising four 765 kV single circuit lines of approximately 891 ckms and two 400 kV dual circuit lines of approximately 53 ckms

The single circuit lines comprise an approximately 260 ckms line from Jabalpur to Bhopal in Madhya Pradesh, an approximately 176 ckms line from Bhopal to Indore in Madhya Pradesh, an approximately 192 ckms line from Aurangabad to Dhule in Maharashtra and an approximately 263 ckms line from Dhule (Maharashtra) to Vadodara (Gujarat). The double circuit lines consist of an approximately 36 ckms line within Dhule and an approximately 17 ckms line within Bhopal. In addition, the project includes two 3,000 MVA sub-stations, one each in Bhopal and Dhule.

BDTCL was fully commissioned in June 2015. BDTCL was awarded a Silver Shield for the year 2013-2014 in the category of ‘Early Completion of Transmission Projects’ by the Ministry of Power for its Dhule sub-station.

Details of BDTCL’s transmission lines and substations are as follows:

Bhopal— Jabalpur 260 765 kV S/C June 9, 2015 March 31, 2049
Bhopal—Indore 176 765 kV S/C November 19, 2014 March 31, 2049
Bhopal—Bhopal (MPPTCL) 17 400 kV D/C August 12, 2014 March 31, 2049
Aurangabad—Dhule (IPTC) 192 765 kV S/C December 5, 2014 March 31, 2049
Dhule (IPTC)—Vadodara 263 765 kV S/C June 13, 2015 March 31, 2049
Dhule (IPTC)—Dhule (MSETCL) 36 400 kV D/C December 6, 2014 March 31, 2049
Bhopal Substation - 2 x 1,500 MVA 765/400 kV September 30, 2014 March 31, 2049
Dhule Substation - 2 x 1,500 MVA 765/400 kV December 6, 2014 March 31, 2049

subscirbeSubscribe For Alerts